Skip to content

My first post

November 16, 2011

This is my first post!  I am so impressed with myself!  Can I say that!?  I never in my wildest dreams thought I would post my thoughts online…. but being that I can’t call everyone daily with all my thoughts and dreams, and well, Facebook has its limits, I thought this would be the next best thing.

I will warn you all now I have never been a perfect writer.  To edit this to the point of perfection would take all the joy out of it, so I won’t.  I will promise to spell check and reread it.

With that said the purpose of this blog will be primarily to share my foodie adventures that are happening in my kitchen.  There will be other things  that pop up now and then, but the primary focus is cooking healthy seasonal food.  (Please remember U.S. readers I am in the Souther Hemisphere, so my seasons will be different than yours.  By the time your Summer gets here, I should have some kick ass zucchini recipes posted!)

I am currently having weekly seasonal veg and fruit delivered to my front door(cheeky I know)and my menus  revolve around it.

The Problem?

Coming from the south, I find that many of the things I want to put in the vegetables include meat.  I keep in-visioning  lots and lots of pork with dark greens.  I also think oh I can fry that(though there is no okra that I have seen)!  Neither is going to keep extra pounds at bay or my ever increasing cholesterol down.

I also was an avid Rachel Ray fan, dare I say it, girl crush … don’t judge me!  This was waaaaaaaaaayyyyy   pre talk show days.    So my second skill set with veggies was to pan fry them and serve it with a grain and meat.  I guess this is tasty and somewhat better, but still the veggie is not the star ingredient.

So I started looking online.  Most of the blogs I  saw were vegan.  That is fine for many people, but I LOVE cheese and olive oil.  Making a pesto of nutritional yeast and apple juice may cut it for some, but that will never taste the same as olive oil and parma!  I am not giving those up!

Last but not least I headed over to Amazon and started downloading samples of their books.  Most of the vegetable books had like 20 ingredients. Lots of the ingredients I was unsure I could even get at the Whole Foods in Austin, and was damn sure I wasn’t getting it here in Auckland.

So I have started combing  through blogs, websites, magazines, cookbooks, using my brain, and trying to create dinners that I can feel good about putting into my body, feel good about my carbon footprint, and that are easy on my wallet.

The wallet thing is a big deal sincea. food is WAY more expensive here b.  I am not working c. I am addicted to a expensive gym d. I am addicted to an equally expensive personal trainer…..

Sometimes there will be meat, pan-fried veggies, and ekkkkk white pasta….. but my goal is for it to be the exception not the rule.

On to the food…

My veg box this week includes:

broccoli, asparagus, capsicum (bell peppers) , tomato, lettuce, courgette (zucchini), cucumber, carrot, red onion, potato, kumara (a type of sweet potato) , orange, strawberry, apple, banana

Stay tuned …..

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. John C. Key MD permalink

    I hope you do well with your blog. I am a vegetarian physician, and like you, have no desire or need to completely EXCLUDE meats, eggs, dairy. I call myself a “nutritional vegetarian” because I like the health benefits of vegetarianism, but most common literature is so replete with animal rights information at the expense of nutritional benefits, it’s kind of a turn off to me. Look forward to following you.

    • Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to send me a note. I will do my best to keep exciting ideas coming. I have recently moved to New Zealand from Austin and have found that the produce is so amazing that I have to take advantage.

  2. Candace permalink

    Yay! I can’t wait to see your veggies recipes. I just put in my summer garden – aubergine (eggplant), corn, about 8 varieties of tom’s, etc. By the way, you can get okra at some of the Indian vegetable shops (and black eyed peas for New Year’s!)

    Go for it and hope you enjoy it! xox Candace

Leave a Reply

