Skip to content

Asparagus Olive Goat Cheese Calzone

November 18, 2011

So I recently downloaded a book from Amazon called “Healthy Bread in Five Minutes A Day”.  I love this book because It focuses on whole grains, but does not make the bread taste like card board.  If it needs white flour to taste good they use some white flour.  It is co authored by a pastry chief and a MD.  The big idea of the book is that you can mix up dough and keep it in the fridge and use it throughout the week or longer depending on the recipe.  I have been experimenting with the master recipe for the past two weeks.  It is as follows for 4 loaves:

5 1/2 cups of whole flour

2 cups of all purpose flour

1 1/2 tbs of yeast

1/4 cup wheat gluten

4 cups warm water

This is a no knead dough!

I have made flat bread, bread and now calzones.  The book is amazing. It has a lot of variety, I am barely scraping the surface of the possibilities so far!  I would recommend anyone who can mix up cookie dough to at the very least check out the blog and download a sample from kindle.  (I tried to link it but I am having issues— hay I learned to post pictured today!  Links tomorrow?!)

 

So that tells you about bread but this is about veggies right?!  This is supposed to be about asparagus?!- Stay with me…

So I have a confession to make.  While taking out the recycling a few weeks ago I saw a stack of Cuisine magazines, you guessed it, in the bin.  At first I resisted.  I went back to the apartment and thought of all the ideas that were sitting waiting for me.  All the New Zealand ingredients I had yet to discover… so while Matt was the the grocery, i got a bag and went for it.  Ya, I got caught, ya, it was embarrassing…. in the elevator with a bag of “trash” but I like to think this meal alone was worth it.

 

So this calzone was inspired by Cuisine’s August Jan 2008 126 Asparagus, Goat Cheese and Olive Calzone and Healthy Bread In Five Minutes

 

Oh by the way- I am an a estimator

The Filling for 4 calzones

about a tablespoon of olive oil

1/2 a white onion

1 bunch of asparagus diced – hard ends saved for stock

couple fo sprigs of thyme

cook onion until translucent add asparagus and cook until tender seasons with black peper and kosher salt- set aside

cut up 1/8 cup of goat cheese , parmesan

slice a small hand full of good- quality olives

mix the ingredients together season to taste.

 

 

the dough- Mine has been in the fridge for several days- it will need to rise at least 2 hours and refrigerated to make it easy to work with…

You will need about a grapefruit ball size for four calzones

I have heated a clay unglazed terracotta tile as hot as the oven would go, stuffed the calzone, put it in the oven and kept a close eye on it! That easy!

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Lisa Knight permalink

    Omg that calzone filling looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

