Skip to content

Weekly Update

December 1, 2011

This week I have been making such simple things I felt I shouldn’t even bother posting them…. then I thought… well everyone wants to eat simple things so I thought I would at least tell you about them.  Thanksgiving was a bit of a disappointment.  You can not get canned clams here, so no clam dip. I also was trying to make this a “healthy” version so I subbed out greek yogurt for the cream cheese Mom always used.  So with clam dip being out   I then did the next best thing and made garlic dip.  I took greek yogurt, garlic, and lemon juice and blended it until smooth.  This broke the yogurt down  into a liquid , so it was tasty, but more of a dressing.  So we baked sweet potatoes and poured it over them.  It was AMAZING!

Sunday we went on a picnic and had a very basic sandwich- tomato and rocket (arugula) with a light  classic vinaigrette.  We baked a fresh loaf of bread, packed it with a bottle of Riesling.  I made sure to season the tomatoes with salt and pepper ahead of time and throw them in a baggie with the rockett.   I even put the dressing in a tiny little honey jar so we could make the sandwich fresh there at the hike.  You forget the a few fresh ingredients can be so amazing.

Another stir fry kept the veggies fresh.  It was snow peas, bok choy, and asparagus.  I simple used ginger, chinese peppers, garlic, and spy sauce.  It took less than 10 minutes.  We had some left over.  I didn’t want it to go bad so the next night we made couscous and took the cold veggies and chopped them up and ate them over the top.  It was tasty!

The past two days I have been in bed with I migraine from hell so I have had to be inventive on what to eat from the kitchen.   I usually know when they are coming, so I had a tasty asian salad dressing from Martha Stewart made, some lima beans, and left over couscous.  I threw together this amazing salad.

Dinner was a recreation of missing my favorite dish from home in Austin.  I love Taverna’s facaccia bread with Pancetta, Mushrooms, Red Onions, Pine nuts, Arugula& Shaved Parmesan Cheese.  I used the bread dough I had in the fridge from the master dough mix and grabbed pine nuts, parmesan, arugula, and some olive oil.  Matt grilled the bread.  I topped it, then threw it under the broiler for a few seconds to get all yummy!  Over all…. pretty damn tasty!  Next time I would use more arugula though, like spinach…. it shrinks down a lot!

I am a little sad.  The guy who did my veggie box will no longer be doing them.  He had to go get a real job.  Next week I will be trying a new service.  Keep your fingers crossed!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

