Skip to content

Lima Bean Soup

December 14, 2011

I haven’t posted in over a week due to horrible migraine pain!  What a bummer!  I have tried to keep up with healthy eating…. but it mostly has been what ever I can throw into a pot and call soup!  My last veggie box had two veggies that between Matt and myself, we identified as green beens and cabbage.  Funny how two things that are so normal can look so different here!  The cabbage was so green it was the color of Kale!

Two weeks ago our stuff arrived from the US and with it my cookbooks!  I was inspired by one of Gordan Ramsay’s Fast Food recipes.  The original recipe was for a lima bean, chorizo, and red onion soup.  It starts out simple enough with cooking chorizo, onion,  garlic, and thyme in olive oil… at this point I upped the veggie content by adding the beautiful cabbage.  You top off with water…. season with salt and pepper.   Let simmer.  Finish off with lemon and fresh parsley.

It came out well, but I am a bit embarrassed to say that  I ended up picking up cured chorizo and it did make a difference.  I am going to have to find sausage in the grocers that are not just frankfurters!

Matt and I do not do Christmas gifts.  This year we are doing the 12 days of Christmas movies.  Tonight we begin officially.  I am trying to pair the movie with fun holiday food… and keep it reasonably healthy.  stain tuned to see how well it goes.  Tonight we watch all the Christmas friends.  I am attempting to warm a ham, make a honey wheat bread, make a veggie heavy potato salad, and if I can time the oven just right, zucchini chips.  I will document it all and post tomorrow.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

