Skip to content

On the 1st day of Christmas

December 15, 2011

Well things turned out pretty okay for my Christmas ” Friends” night.  I am still using the amazing Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day book, but tried the soft whole wheat sandwich bread recipe.  It is basically the master bread recipe with 5 eggs added.     It makes a bread that is tasty for sandwiches.  The potato salad was the “veggie” of the night.  Matt said that there were more veggies that there were potatoes.  That was my point!  Coming from Texas, I am a mustard potato salad girl myself so I was able to eliminate the need fo mayo.   I also used a black bean chili sauce from the asian grocer to give it some kick.  To keep the 5 a day rule, I added an entire carrot, a cup of stir-fried lentil sprouts ( Matt still said that tasted a little like iron, so maybe cook them a little longer) and an entire broccoli stem.     The sandwich was pilled high with fresh lettuce and tomato.  I was unable to make the zucchini chips due to the timing of the oven :(.  Another day.

It was a fun night because we broke the evening up with some of the episodes before a visit to the gym, and eating the ham sandwich durring the last episode when Chandler’s co worker steals the ham.  My favorite episode is still when Ross dresses up as the “Holiday Armadillo.  “

Tonight we will watch “It’s a Wonderful Life”.  I am making a pizza with bell peppers ( get it bells), caramelized onions, and mushrooms, mulled cider, and try my hand at some healthier sugar cookies shaped like bells.  Let you know how it goes!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I need to send you my potato salad recipe. Not a big fan of mayo either. This gets lots of it’s moisture from a yummy marinade.

Leave a comment